Death Cab For Cutie’s Ben Gibbard Announces Debut Solo Record

To say I’m a big Death Cab For Cutie fan is a bit of an understatement, from the moment I heard the first strains of their music on The O.C. back in the day I was in love. Having hoovered up every offering they have put forward with glee I can only try and tell you how excited I am for Death Cab front man, Ben Gibbard’s, first solo offering.

Ben Gibbard

November 12th is the day I’ll be able to get my sweaty little paws on Former Lives and I’ll certainly be pre-ordering it from City Slang!

After fifteen years in Death Cab for Cutie, Ben didn’t make his first solo album in search of a new beginning; instead, it closes a door. “These songs span eight years, three relationships, living in two different places, drinking then not drinking. They’re a side story, not a new chapter.”

The first song from this album, Teardrop Windows, is amazing and available to download now. It is about Seattle’s Smith Tower, it began as an attempt to, in Benjamin’s words, “write a Big Star inspired song,” but quickly morphed into something else entirely. The Smith, built in 1914, was once the jewel of the Seattle skyline but has since been forced out of the frame by the iconic Space Needle and other taller or otherwise attention-grabbing structures. “To me, it represents the things we take for granted when something newer, bigger and flashier comes into our lives,” Ben explains.

Former Lives Artwork By Benjamin GibbardHere’s a look at the artwork for the album and the track listing is below:

‘Former Lives’ track list:

1. Shepherd’s Bush Lullaby
2. Dream Song
3. Teardrop Windows
4. Bigger Than Love
5. Lily
6. Something’s Rattling (Cowpoke)
7. Duncan, Where Have You Gone?
8. Oh, Woe
9. A Hard One To Know
10. Lady Adelaide
11. Broken Yolk In Western Sky
12. I’m Building A Fire

I can’t wait. Are you excited about this? Who would you like to make a solo record? Are you a Death Cab For Cutie fan?




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s